Zucchini Tots.

This recipe caught my eye I think on Pinterest a while back.  I’m always up for new ways to make zucchini, so I gave it a try this week.  I ended up eating an entire zucchini 🙂  It was a small one, but I really never expected to eat the whole thing.  It was just so yummy.  Thanks to aroundthetableri.blogspot.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup zucchini, grated
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cups cheese (like Parmesan)
  • 1/4 cup Italian style breadcrumbs
  • Salt and Pepper

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Grease a mini-muffin pan (or line a cookie sheet with foil); set aside.
  • Grate the zucchini, then place in a dish towel and squeeze out all excess water (very important!).
  • In a bowl, combine egg, onion, cheese, bread crumbs, zucchini, salt, and pepper
  • Using a spoon or a cookie scoop, fill the muffin cups to the top (or, use a rounded measuring tablespoon or cookie scoop to make small balls and spread out evenly on a lined cookie sheet).
  • Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until the top is browned and set.

Notes:

  • Like I said….delicious.  I’m not sure if they are better than my zucchini fries, but pretty darn good nonetheless.
  • I opted for the cookie sheet path (I really hate washing muffin tins).  I would recommend using non-stick foil or spraying the foil first.  I wasn’t really thinking and I ended up having to scrape the tots off of the foil when they were done.
  • They are almost fluffy (guess that’s the egg).  I was expecting them to be more crunchy like a tater tot, but they really weren’t.  Good in a different way.
  • I was definitely on the higher end of the timeframe for baking, in fact I think I even gave them a few extra minutes beyond the 18.  I think this is something you definitely do not want to undercook, the browned top is what lets you know they are done.
  • I made sure I bought two zucchini this week….so…you know they’re getting made again!

Leave a comment