Croutons.

Homemade croutons – doesn’t sound so hard, and it really isn’t.  First I have the original list of ingredients that I got off of the internet (thank you, www.hillbillyhousewife.com – a lot of good stuff on her site!).

Ingredients:

10 slices of bread, heels are fine (homemade or store bought)

1/2 teaspoon basil

1/4 teaspoon oregano

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon celery salt (or 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon celery seed)

1/4 to 1/3 cup oil

Instructions:

Slice bread into cubes (whatever size you want).  Sprinkle on seasonings, toss, then add oil and toss again.  Spread cubes on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 20 minutes (or until crisp).  Store in a plastic bag or sealed container.

Notes:

I made this with some leftover bread that I was using for another project and I think it was definitely not the right kind of bread.  It was very generic store-brand thin-sliced white bread.  Which means that I ended up with very boring generic white-bread croutons.  The flavor was a little bland (I think it could use some more seasoning) but it was really the texture that put me off.  I like really really crunchy croutons, and these were just like…cubes of bread crumbs that just quite hadn’t fallen apart yet 🙂  I also thought that they were a little oily, but that might be because of the sad texture.  20 minutes seemed a little long, I think 12-15 would probably do it.

Opinion:

Overall I think this will end up being a good recipe.  The next time I made them I am going to use a much more solid kind of bread (I’m envisioning a crusty italian round or something like that).  I’ll give the 1/4 cup of oil one more try, but if they seem too oily again I’m going to cut it back a little bit.  I will post up the results after my next experiment!

Addendum:

See https://geisha666blog.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/croutons-take-two-plus-bagel-chips/for the latest update to the crouton adventure!

Leave a Reply

