Table Salt Substitute.

I’ve been searching for a good table salt substitute, but all of the commercial ones seem to get bad reviews (at least from the people I’ve talked to!).  Found a simple mix of spices on www.budget101.com (and they have a ton of great ideas I might add).

Ingredients:

1 tbsp onion powder
1 1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp celery seed, crushed
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp chili powder

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients and seal in Ziploc or vacuum seal bag (or jar).

Notes:

I put it in a spice jar with a shaker top.  I thought about using a regular salt shaker but I think some of the pieces might be a little big.

Opinion:

You definitely have to get past the “I want something that tastes exactly like salt but isn’t salt” thing.  If you can go into it with that mindset – this is actually very good.  It has a very mild flavor but makes a “boring” food taste better.  I’m pretty happy with this!

Leave a Reply

