Bagel Chips

Again, in an effort to make my salty snacks less salty, I attempted to make my own bagel chips to replace the store-bought ones that I usually add to my homemade snack mix.  I found this recipe at http://newlyfed.blogspot.com/2011/02/homemade-bagel-chips.html.

Ingredients:

  • Bagels
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Onion Powder
  • Garlic Powder

Instructions:

Slice bagels thinly.  Lightly brush both sides with oil.  Sprinkle with seasonings.  Bake at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes or until both sides are browned and crispy.

Notes:

I’m pretty sure that I took “slice thinly” a little too much to heart.  The unfortunate result was that most of my thinly sliced pieces were burnt to a crisp well under the 10 minute mark!  I also cut my slices into little pieces to start out with.  Next time I think it will save effort if I just leave the slices whole and break them up after they are baked.

Opinion:

The handful of thicker pieces that survived the bagel chip holocaust were very tasty.  They were less greasy and less salty than the store bought kind.  Even with the thicker pieces, I think 7-8 minutes in the oven would be plenty.  They fit into my snack mix very well.

Addendum:

See https://geisha666blog.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/croutons-take-two-plus-bagel-chips/ for the latest update on the bagel chips – made some major improvements!  They are now the favorite pieces in my snack mix 🙂

Leave a Reply

