Chicken Croquettes.

Chicken croquettes from the freezer section or from someplace like a farmer’s market stand are so expensive (I know at our local market they cost over $2 per croquette!).  Since we are addicted to them I decided to try a recipe out of the old standby Mennonite Community Cookbook to see if it was a good replica.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter

2 1/2 tablespoons flour

1 cup milk

2 cups minced cooked chicken

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon onion juice

1/8 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons minced parsley or celery

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup dried bread crumbs

Instructions:

Make a white sauce of the fat, flour, and milk. Add the finely chopped chicken and seasoning. Cool thoroughly, then shape into croquettes. Dip in crumbs, then beaten eggs and again into crumbs. Fry in deep fat for 3-5 minutes.

Notes:

I sort of fudged some stuff in this recipe and I will try to not do that next time.  I didn’t cook the minced chicken first, thinking I would just cook the finished croquettes in the oven and let it cook that way.  Unfortunately the resulting mixture was very thin.  I don’t know if it was because of not cooking the chicken first or what, but I had a tough time shaping the croquettes.  I ended up adding bread crumbs to thicken it up, so there were bread crumbs both in and out.  I did bake them in the oven vs. frying them, for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.  This makes a lot, so I froze a bunch also.  Next batch I do I will cook the chicken first, and also add the white sauce a little at a time to make sure it’s not thinning things out too much.

Opinion:
I think the recipe is good if I just follow it!  Even with the modifications that were made, they still tasted very good, they were just a little heavy.  Definitely cheaper than buying them pre-made, and less salty also.
Addendum:
I did try this again, cooking the chicken first.  It was still very crumbly but not nearly as bad.  I also tried frying them right away before freezing, instead of freezing raw and then just baking in the oven.  Well, of course they tasted better fried!  🙂  I am told by the expert (Mom) that I might have better luck if I tried cooking the chicken in whole pieces first rather than using ground chicken.  It’ll dry out more and make the mixture less crumbly.  We’ll try it for round three!
Addendum #2:
I was surprised to see how old this original post was, it doesn’t seem like I made this first attempt that long ago!  Just made a batch over the weekend and it was the best batch yet.  I did use whole chicken breasts, cooked them in just a little oil.  I let them cool, then cut into chunks and threw into the food processor.  Amazing how fine it shreds up!  Then…..I put the chicken in the fridge overnight.  I made the white sauce the next day, and also let that cool thoroughly before mixing it with the cold chicken.  Definitely made it thicker.  I could have probably been excessive and refrigerated the formed croquettes before frying (they always seem to want to split in the middle while frying, and they get sort of flat as they cook!) but even without doing that they stayed together much much better.
Leave a Reply

