Sugar Shower Scrub.

I really enjoyed the brown sugar and sea salt shower scrub that I made a few months ago, but wanted to continue experimenting.  I found another simple recipe for a sugar scrub that turned out quite well.

Ingredients:

  • 2 parts sugar
  • 1 part oil
  • Approximately 15-20 drops of any essential oil

Instructions:

  • Mix sugar and oil.  Add essential oil and mix.

Notes:

  • I used regular granulated sugar.  You can also use brown sugar which is supposed to be a little more gentle on your skin, or raw sugar which will be more coarse.
  • There is a lot of debate about what kind of oils you can use to make shower scrubs.  A common choice seemed to be olive oil, but the general consensus is that any non-stinky oil will work.  I decided to use virgin coconut oil because it’s sort of solid (like vegetable shortening) and I thought it might hold up better in the mix vs. a liquid oil that would tend to separate from the sugar.
  • I started mixing this with a spoon but ended up running it through the food processor.  That worked perfectly!  Very smooth and even consistency.
  • I used lavender essential oil in this first run but I’m sure we’ll be experimenting with others!

Opinion:

I think this turned out great.  The consistency is very similar to the scrubs you can buy in a tube at Bath and Body works for $14 a container?  Granted, the coconut oil isn’t exactly cheap (approximately $9 a jar), but you could get at least four or five batches of scrub out of one jar.  Still way cheaper.  I’m one of those people who has to have a variety of different soaps and scrubs in my shower at all times so there will be more scrub being made in the near future!

Addendum:

Based on something else I read on the internet while researching shower scrubs, I made another batch using the recipe above, but added a bar of ivory soap to the mix (cut into small squares and dropped into the food processor after the sugar and oil were mixed).  I only got to test a little washing my hands – it still is slightly oily and softens your skin, but also foams up and makes you feel cleaner than the original version.  I think I’m in love!!  This seems to be the closest to store-bought scrub that I have found so far.  I used sweet orange essential oils in this one, and that scent mixed with the ivory soap is very fresh and clean.

Leave a Reply

