Baked Oatmeal.

In the never-ending quest to find tasty breakfasts that are both relatively healthy and easy to make ahead and take to work, I came across this recipe for baked oatmeal.  Not a new idea, I realize, but one I never tried before.  I made my first pan today and it tasted good!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups quick oats
  • 4 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup raisins

Instructions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Pour into a lightly greased 9 x 13 baking pan.
  • Batter will be very thin, don’t worry it will thicken as it cooks!
  • Bake at 325 degrees for 45-60 minutes, until firm.
  • Cut into squares and serve with your choice of toppings.

Notes:

  • I halved the original recipe above and put it into a round cake pan.
  • I placed that cake pan on a lined cookie sheet in case it spilled over – but it doesn’t really rise, so I think I’d be safe without that step next time.
  • Definitely let it bake until it looks golden brown on top – I think I could have let mine cook a few extra minutes (I took it out around the 50 minute mark).
  • Very tasty, each wedge fit neatly into a ziploc snack bag and is ready to be taken to work and reheated for a quick breakfast next week!
Leave a Reply

