Bisquick.

I’ve been waiting for a few months to finish off my box of real Bisquick so that I could try the homemade version that I found.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter or margarine

Instructions:

  • Mix together flour, baking soda, sugar, and salt.
  • Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly.
  • Store in an airtight container for up to six weeks, or in the freezer for longer storage.
  • Substitute for Bisquick in any recipe.

Notes:

  • I made the batch in this picture using King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat Flour.
  • I also made a batch previously using regular plain white flour.
  • While the whole wheat flour does taste good, the while flour version definitely tastes more like real Bisquick.
  • I hate cutting butter into anything by hand – you can make this recipe much easier by cutting the butter into small pieces and then mixing everything together in a food processor.
2 comments

  1. Victoria Miles · · Reply

    I just made drop biscuits with this mix for breakfast and they turned out perfect-maybe even better than when I used store-bought Bisquick! You would never know this was a homemade mix. Thanks so much!

    1. glad to hear it! I’ve made the drop biscuits and the “real” roll-em-out biscuits with this and both come out great.

Leave a Reply

