Roasted Turnips.

The adventures of Lancaster Farm Fresh continued on today.  I passed on the turnips the first week when we got them, and then when we had more the second week I decided I needed to just suck it up and see what they tasted like.  My sister suggested roasting them, so I searched online for some recipes.  I ended up with Martha Stewart’s version – minus one odd ingredient (nutmeg just didn’t go with everything else below).  I was pleasantly surprised with the results.  I actually said to Bob that we should have the camera to post a picture captioned “Hey look, Mom, I’m taking a second helping of turnips…on purpose!!”

This is a very informal recipe that I sort of just put together without really measuring anything.  I cut the ends off the turnips and peeled away anything that looked weird on the outside, then cut into small pieces.  I drizzled a little olive oil over them, added salt, pepper, Parmesan cheese, and cayenne pepper.  (no nutmeg!)  I mixed everything up, put on a cookie sheet, and put in the oven at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes.

I think the key is definitely keeping the pieces small and making sure they are roasted until they are nice and crispy on the outside.  The few pieces that I had that were a little bigger were almost squishy in the middle and I had to make myself not think about it and just eat it.   I did actually go back for seconds.  I would make this recipe again.

One comment

  1. I think turnips get a bad rap. They really aren’t so bad! A lot of people I know also put them in soup. Guess that can be another taste adventure!

Leave a Reply

