Au Gratin Potatoes (using dehydrated potatoes).

I love the idea of having dehydrated potatoes on hand that are ready to go at any moment for a recipe.  In a house where we often don’t decide what’s for dinner until about five minutes before I start making it, this can come in very handy!  This is the first recipe I tried using dehydrated potatoes (which, by the way, you can make by slicing potatoes into 1/8 inch thick slices, boiling for five minutes, then putting in cold water for 15 minutes – put in dehydrator until dry!).

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups sliced dehydrated potatoes
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Place potatoes in a medium casserole dish.
  • In a small saucepan over low heat, melt butter.
  • Stir in flour and mix well.
  • Gradually add milk and stir constantly until thickened.
  • Add cheese and stir until the cheese has melted.
  • Pour cheese sauce over potatoes and gently stir to combine.
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Notes:

  • As usual, I halved the recipe for the two of us.  Portion size was great.
  • As a result, 30 minutes was plenty of time for it to cook.   If you had the full batch you might need the extra time.

Opinion:

  • It was delicious.  How can you go wrong with potatoes, butter, and cheese??  I will say that it was actually almost a little over greasy.  I’m thinking I could reduce the butter by just a little next time.
  • I was relieved to see how nicely the potatoes rehydrated.  I don’t know why I would expect anything different, I’ve been eating au gratin potatoes out of the box since I was a kid, but just that first time paranoid sort of thing.
  • My next question is: can I make a huge batch of this up and freeze in appropriate portions so that all I have to do is snag a bag out cheese sauce out of the freezer, warm it up enough to stir it in with the potatoes, and let it bake?  Making the cheese sauce is certainly easy enough, but after coming home from work I want as easy as it gets.  Saves a pan and about ten minutes.  Will be trying that for future.

 

Leave a Reply

