Tropical Treat (for the birds!)

My parents got me this great book for Christmas, called For The Birds: Easy to Make Recipes for Your Feathered Friends.  It’s filled with recipes to make your own homemade (all natural) birdseed mixes and treats.  You’ll be seeing more of these, I love to take care of our “outdoor pets” and some of these recipes sound almost good enough to eat myself!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup lard
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup coconut
  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup wild birdseed mix

Instructions:

  • Melt the lard and peanut butter in a medium saucepan over low heat.
  • Stir in coconut, oats, and cornmeal.
  • Add the raisins and birdseed and pour into a deep medium-sized baking pan; leave to chill in the refrigerator overnight to solidify.
  • Remove from refrigerator the next day and cut into squares to serve in a suet or tray feeder.
  • Wrap extra in plastic and freeze.

Notes:

  • Couldn’t be easier to make.  The lard was tough to find, I looked at three stores before I found some.  Was surprised about that, especially here in PA Dutch country!
  • I poured this into a round pie dish, it seemed about the right depth.  I figure I’ll be able to cut it into four pieces, they won’t be perfect squares for the suet cage but they’ll fit.  I don’t think the birds will mind.
Leave a Reply

