Wild Rice Burgers.

 

Always on a mission to find new “burgers” that I can make ahead, freeze, and snag in the morning for lunch.  The latest – wild rice burgers.  Thanks to http://www.thekitchn.com/ for the original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked wild rice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/3 cup small-diced onion
  • 1/3 cup small-diced celery
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup shredded aged Asiago cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/16 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 large eggs, beaten

Instructions:

  • Cook wild rice according to package instructions;  cool completely (can make a day ahead and refrigerate).
  • Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a skillet over medium-low heat and saute onions, celery, and garlic until onion is translucent.
  • In a large bowl, combine onion-celery-garlic mixture with wild rice, bread crumbs, Asiago cheese, salt, oregano, thyme, paprika, cayenne pepper, and black pepper.
  • Cool completely and then add eggs, stirring to combine.
  • Divide mixture into 4 and shape into 1/2-inch thick patties.
  • Heat remaining tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.
  • Fry patties 2-3 minutes on each side until crisp and golden.
  • Serve with your favorite burger toppings.

Variation:

  • For a vegan version, omit Asiago cheese and replace the eggs with 2 tablespoons ground flax seeds whisked with 6 tablespoons water.

Notes:

  • As usual, I didn’t really follow the recipe exactly.  I used green onions instead of regular, and just sprinkled in a little garlic powder since I don’t keep fresh cloves on hand.  I also eliminated the thyme because I don’t like it.  I’m sure you can experiment with the spices involved to make it to your liking.
  • I did make the rice ahead and refrigerated overnight, that seemed to work well.
  • I cooked them on a griddle.  I found it was easiest to form the patties as you were putting them on the griddle rather than trying to make them all ahead.  I formed each burger, dropped it onto the griddle, and then used a pancake turner to flatten them evenly and tidy up the edges so that they were relatively round.  I cooked them longer than the 2-3 minutes per side, I waited until each side was very brown so that the burgers would stay firm and survive the freezing process.
  • I doubled the recipe but didn’t want the burgers to be quite as big as described, so I made them thinner and smaller (about the size of an english muffin).  I ended up with 13 burgers.
  • The final result – delicious!  I ate one for lunch and it was very filling, great flavor, not greasy or overpowering in anyway.
3 comments

  1. Victoria Miles · · Reply

    Thanks so much for offering the vegan version! I am looking forward to trying these out!

  2. Victoria Miles · · Reply

    I made these last night for supper. They were so easy to make and I love that you don’t have to fry them in tons of oil! I made the vegan version, and my husband (not a vegan by any means!) really liked them. And if he liked them, you know they’re good!

  3. This recipe is definitely at the top of my “not-burgers”, along with my winter squash burgers. Glad to hear they pleased even the non-vegan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

