Black Bean Burgers v.2.

 

Will forever be on the quest to perfectly replicate a Morningstar Black Bean Burger.  The last recipe that I tried for these burgers was getting closer, but I was convinced that this would be the winner based on the Pinterest picture.  Now I’m more convinced that the person who made the Pinterest picture took it of a Morningstar Black Bean Burger to trick me into trying their recipe lol.  Don’t get me wrong, these were very edible. but not exactly what I was expecting.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 chipotle in adobo, minced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup oat flour

Instructions:

  • Place quinoa in a small saucepan with 1 cup of water.
  • Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat to low, and cook 10-15 minutes until water is absorbed.
  • Heat the oil in a small pan over medium heat and add the onion and garlic.
  • Add 1/4 teaspoon salt and saute until onions are softened (5-6 minutes).
  • Place the mixture in a large bowl.
  • Add black beans to the bowl and mash together until a pasty mixture forms.
  • Stir in the tomato paste, egg, corn, cilantro, chipotles, cumin, and remaining 1/4 teaspoon of salt.
  • Stir in the cooked quinoa, oats, and oat flour until well mixed.
  • Form the mixture into patties, and either fry or bake until golden brown.

Notes:

  • As always, lots of substitutions and fudging.  I used garlic powder instead of fresh, regular flour instead of oat, spring onions instead of red, and couldn’t find a chipotle pepper to save my life so went with standard jalapeno.
  • The original recipe said to refrigerate the patties before cooking, but the mixture seemed firm enough to me to just jump right in and cook them.  I used the griddle method, and got seven burgers out of the batch.
  • Final opinion – these weren’t bad.  I usually doctor up my black bean burgers with some sharp cheese and a little BBQ sauce (I also LOVE putting those crunchy french fried onions on them too, but I’ve given those up in my quest to be healthier).  There was nothing offensive about the flavor, it just wasn’t very exciting.  I’m sure I’ll finish off the remaining six burgers (froze them already), but I think next time I’ll go back to my experimentation with the other black bean burger recipe that I have posted (see it here).  The quinoa instead of rice was a nice touch, and I may incorporate that into things next time around.
Leave a Reply

