Barbecue Sauce.

I did my annual “really-clean-the-fridge” project this week, and as a result threw out all of those expired bottles of condiments that accumulate over time.  I decided that I was not going to cheat and replace any of them – I can make them all, right??

So, first on the list…barbecue sauce.  We’re not huge users of this in our house, but I like a little on a black bean burger, or sometimes we’ll put some on chicken to grill it.  I am pretty particular about my sauce, so I was curious to see how this first attempt went.  Thanks to www.farmgirlfare.com for the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 1/2 cups finely chopped onion
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons molasses
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 6 ounce can tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • several grinds fresh pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Instructions:

  • Heat the olive oil in a 4 quart pot.
  • Add the onions and cook over medium heat, stirring frequently until they start to soften; then reduce heat and cook until caramelized, about 20-30 minutes.
  • Increase the heat back up to medium, make a space in the center of the pot, add the garlic, and cook, stirring, for one minute.
  • Add the molasses, apple cider vinegar, tomato paste, cumin, chili powder, cayenne, salt, and pepper; stir to combine.
  • Add the water.  (if you’re going to puree your sauce, do it now)
  • Bring the sauce to a gentle boil, reduce the heat to low, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thick, about 30 minutes.
  • Serve hot with whatever you like, or store in a covered container in the refrigerator.

Notes:

  • I followed the instructions to a tee – probably the first time ever!
  • I did choose to puree; I didn’t like the idea of chunks in my barbecue sauce.  I used an immersion blender at the stage noted above.
  • It was not a bad first attempt.  The flavor was actually quite good – I think it was just a little more tomato-ish than I wanted.  I will absolutely use it and maybe it will grow on me, but if not then my next attempt will be to find one that is a little less bright red and more like your standard store-bought barbecue sauce.

Addendum:

  • So I let this sit in the fridge for a little while, thinking I just wasn’t as enthused about it as I had hoped.  Last night I decided to grill up a chicken breast so I slathered it in the homemade BBQ sauce.  It was delicious!  And when I licked off the spoon after stirring up the contents of the jar, I remembered that I really did like the taste.  Again – not the standard almost purplish BBQ sauce that I was imagining, but still really flavorful and good.
Leave a Reply

