Chicken Tortilla Soup.

Chicken tortilla soup!!

Chicken tortilla soup!!

As posted before, I refuse to eat canned soup anymore.  In fact, I’ve realized that I even struggle with getting soup “out” – most places are WAY too salty (meaning they either are using canned soup themselves or they are still overdoing it on the salt so that people do not complain about it being bland).  Usually I’m happy with my chicken and beef on-the-fly soup (see post here).  But, every now and then I get a craving for something different.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 14.5 ounce cans diced tomatoes in juice
  • 2 15 ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 14.5 ounce can chicken broth (or stock)
  • 1 10 ounce package frozen corn
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 cup crushed tortilla chips plus more for serving (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice (if using fresh limes, save some wedges for serving)
  • 1-2 cups cooked chicken, shredded or diced

Instructions:

  • Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  • Add the garlic and chili powder and cook until fragrant – about one minute.
  • Add tomatoes (with juice), beans, broth, corn, and 1 cup water.
  • If you like, you can add some finely diced jalapeno pepper.
  • Taste and season with salt and pepper.
  • Bring soup to a boil and add the chicken; reduce to simmer and add the crushed tortilla chips.
  • Cover and simmer for two minutes or until tortilla chips have softened.
  • Remove from heat; stir in the lime juice and taste.
  • Serve soup with lime wedges and tortilla chips.

Notes:

  • I didn’t stray too far from the original recipe for once – I used homemade chicken stock, and my frozen corn was from my stash of corn-off-the-cob from last summer.  I used chicken drumsticks but I think chicken breasts would have been good too (I’m very much a white meat chicken girl, I just found the chicken legs buried in the freezer and figured I should use them up!).
  • The original recipe also noted that additional spices could be added – cilantro, cumin, additional chili powder…I think next time I will try adding some cumin and maybe some more chili powder.  The flavor was not bad, but it was a little bland.  It needed a little kick.
  • I was disappointed to not find those fancy little tortilla strips that you get in restaurants at the grocery store!  I was really hoping to sprinkle a boatload on 🙂  I did use organic blue corn tortilla chips with no salt added so they were probably better for me anyway.
  • Definitely makes way more soup than one person can eat, since I’m usually the prime soup eater in the house I may halve this recipe next time.  I’m not sure how well it would freeze.
  • You can make this vegan easily by just eliminating the chicken and using vegetable broth/stock.  Not sure what is in tortilla chips but if they pose a problem they are optional anyway.

Addendum:

  • This recipe does actually freeze well.  It can also be stored in mason jars using a pressure canner.
  • To store in jars, process in pressure canner at 10 pounds of pressure for 75 minutes (pint jars) or 90 minutes (quart jars).  Leave one inch of head space per jar.  Eliminate the crushed tortilla chips from the original recipe, and just add when reheating.
Leave a Reply

