Mockingbird Muffins.

Another treat from “For the Birds” for our feathered backyard friends!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup grated breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup currants or raisins
  • 1/2 cup bacon drippings
  • 1/4 teaspoon sand
  • 1 cup water

Instructions:

  • Combine cornmeal, flour, breadcrumbs, and baking soda in a medium to large bowl.
  • Add currants or raisins, bacon drippings, sand, and water.
  • Mix well.
  • Spoon the moist mixture into a muffin tray lined with paper muffin cups.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.
  • Serve these muffins on a tray feeder or spear them onto tree branches.

Notes:

  • Guess I should have taken a picture of these in muffin format!  I was too anxious to get them done and put away.
  • The recipe makes 12 muffins.  You’ll end up pretty much filling each muffin cup.  The batter is very thick so you’ll have to press it into each cup.
  • There’s no real reason to use the paper wrappers on these.  I did because I’m lazy and now I don’t have to wash the muffin pan, but that is something that could be skipped.
  • As you can see, I like to crumble these “cakes” for the birds to enjoy, we just sprinkle a little out each day under the feeders.  I could just see a squirrel running off with an entire muffin if we put them out whole!  (and yes, I had a squirrel make off with my entire suet cage once so I have no limit on my belief in their creativity)
  • Easy enough to make, I’m sure I’ll be using this one again.
Leave a Reply

