Toilet Bombs.

I cracked up when I saw “Toilet Bombs” come across as the title of one of my RSS feeds.  Maybe I should call these Good Toilet Bombs so there isn’t any confusion 🙂  It’s a very simple idea to create premade cleaner “tablets” for lack of a better word.  Aside from being a little messy (don’t worry, the countertop wipes up quick), these were easy to make and use.  Thanks to www.mariasself.com (where you can also buy them from her if you don’t want to make your own).

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup citric acid
  • 30 drops lavender essential oil
  • 30 drops peppermint essential oil
  • 30 drops lemon essential oil

Instructions:

  • Mix baking soda and citric acid.
  • Mix essential oils in a small spray bottle.
  • Spray dry mix slowly, mixing after every few sprays (if you add too much liquid at once the mixture will start to fizz and dissolve away).
  • If mix doesn’t seem moist enough, add a very small bit of water to the spray bottle and add to the mix.
  • Press moistened mixture into silicone molds and let dry for at least six hours.
  • Drop into toilet for a fresh-scented clean whenever you like!

Notes:

  • In case you are wondering (I know I had to look it up), citric acid is used in canning, so any store that sells Ball jars and canning supplies should have it.
  • The original author of this recipe stated that she wore a medical mask when working with the citric acid.  I sort of thought she was crazy – there’s no warning on the container, and you put it into food when canning so how bad could it be!  But, right at the very end when I had a lot of it loose and floating around the kitchen, it did make my eyes burn a little.  If you are sensitive to that sort of thing a mask may not be a bad idea.
  • I was also a little unsure how wet to make the mixture.  I used all the oil and probably close to an equivalent amount of water (which you’ll notice is a very tiny amount).  You don’t want it to actually get creamy, it should just be damp.
  • I did test one out this morning, it fizzed nicely when I dropped it in the bowl.  I think it would probably be best to use when you know it’ll be able to sit for a while (like on the way out the door to work or something) – that way it can really soak in.
One comment

Leave a Reply

