Body Wash Take Two.

The last “body wash” that I made wasn’t really recommended as a body wash…more of a liquid hand soap thing (making liquid soap from bar soap, see here).  It worked well, but the consistency wasn’t exactly appealing.  It didn’t bother me, but Bob vehemently refused to use it after one try (I’m just going to insert the two words “consistency” and “snot” here and let you use your imagination).  I think the fact that the bar soap that I used was unfortunately a dirty green color really didn’t help the illusion lol.  However, I knew I could do better.  I was intrigued with the liquid castile soap, and found the below recipe at introducingtiffanyscrochetcreations.blogspot.com.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup liquid castile soap
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 5-7 drops of your favorite essential oil(s)

Instructions:

  • Mix and pour into a plastic bottle.

Notes:

  • Easy enough to make right?  I used a repurposed pump type bottle which worked perfectly.
  • One thing to note – castile soap is very very thin.  Like water.  And since you’re adding it to water…the end result is going to be very watery.  Hence the usefulness of the pump.  I found you almost have to do a little squirt from the bottle for each body part (like one for each arm, one for each leg)…you can’t hold enough in your hand to get it all done at once.  Or, put it on a sponge or washrag or something.  It does foam up a little.
  • It certainly isn’t storebought body wash so don’t go into this thinking it will be.  I find it to be one step up from the “snot” liquid soap (I haven’t had Bob test it yet though so I can’t make any promises!).  I’ve used it twice so far and find it great for quick showers (like after a run) vs. the full “bar soap on washrag, scrub, rinse out the washrag, etc.” thing.  It leaves my skin soft and feels clean.
Leave a Reply

