Deodorant.

I’ve been wanting to try the homemade deodorant thing for a while.  I’ve had some feedback from real people I know (vs. those crazy internet people :)).  Most people had difficulty with their recipes, either it wasn’t strong enough and had to be reapplied multiple times per day, it was soft and had to be applied with fingers or kept in the fridge, it caused skin irritation, etc.  I searched through MANY internet recipes looking for the person who could convince me that their homemade deodorant was just as good as storebought without any of the harmful toxins.  I think I have a winner.  Thank you www.thepolivkafamily.com for this recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons beeswax
  • 2 tablespoons baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot
  • 1/8 teaspoon tea tree essential oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon lavender or rosemary essential oil
  • empty deodorant container

Instructions:

  • Melt beeswax and coconut oil in a pan or double boiler over low heat.
  • Whisk in the baking soda and arrowroot powder.
  • Remove pan from heat, and stir in essential oils (add more if it isn’t fragrant enough).
  • Pour into empty deodorant container.
  • Leave uncapped for 24 hours or until cool, then cap.

Notes:

  • As above, I am pleasantly surprised by this first attempt.  So far it’s perfect!  I applied this morning, smelled good all day, went for a three mile run after work (yes, sweat dripping), and STILL smelled ok.  And the best part – when I showered after that run, no icky leftover deodorant goop to wash off, nice and clean.  (I’m sure that’s probably a little more than you needed to know about my personal hygiene, but the point had to be made!  :)).
  • It’s only the first day, but so far no irritation or itchiness.  If that changes I promise to come back and post it.
  • The consistency is great, in fact it’s almost a little more solid than storebought deodorant.  I might cut back the beeswax just a TINY bit next time.  To be honest, I didn’t really measure it, I used an ice cube sized chunk and figured it was about 2 tablespoons.
  • For those of you who haven’t worked with beeswax before – it’s messy.  Don’t put the melted version of it on anything that you might treasure (i.e. pan, whatever you use to stir it, measuring implements, etc.).  And, try and rinse any residue off of said items as soon as you possibly can with the hottest water you can stand.  If you let it sit you will fight with it that much more.  Having said that – if you plan to use beeswax from time to time, pick up a cheap plastic measuring cup, spoon, etc. and just dedicate them to the beeswax.  If a little gets stuck on it’s no big deal, it won’t hurt anybody!
  • If you’re having trouble finding any of the ingredients:  I think you can pretty much find any of it on mountainroseherbs.com.  I managed to find the arrowroot in the “fancy” spice section at my local grocery store (I’m going to have to check out the bulk spice shop at the market next time to see if I can get a cheaper deal!).  I also repurposed an old deodorant container rather than buying an empty one.  To be honest, I traded the last seasons of True Blood and Game of Thrones for a chunk of beeswax from a friend, so I haven’t had to search locally for that yet 🙂  I know the organic stand at my local market sells it in small quantities.

Addendum:

  • I was really disappointed to have to add that I am no longer happy with my new favorite recipe.  There were no adverse reactions (i.e. rash or irritation) – but after about four days, it seems to have lost its potency.  My guess is that it took that long for my “real” deodorant to finally work its way out of my system (which is scary in itself).  If you don’t mind reapplying at least once a day then you will be ok – but I found that by the time I got home from work (even without any major exertion) I was starting to be not-so-fresh.  I will keep searching to see what other recipes I can find!
Leave a Reply

