Shampoo.

Another toiletry that I’ve been wanting to try homemade for a long long time.  This was a very scary one for me because I am fanatical about having super clean hair.  I don’t care much about what it looks like after it’s clean, but no one can ever say it’s dirty!!  🙂  I have very mixed feelings on this and I’ll share them below.  Thanks to introducingtiffanyscrochetcreations.blogspot.com for having a recipe unique enough to convince me to at least give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup liquid castile soap
  • 1/2 cup tea (brewed 30 minutes)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey

Instructions:

  • Mix and pour into a plastic bottle (glass is no good in the shower!).

Notes:

  • First the notes about actually making it.  You can get castile soap online at mountainroseherbs.com.  I also found some at a local organic whole food store.  You can buy scented soap.  Mine was plain, so I added some lavender essential oil to it (you can add anything you like).
  • I used green tea.
  • I picked up a plastic bottle with a pump (which originally had cheap hand soap in it) at the dollar store.  Worked great for this project.
  • Ok, here’s the discussion about how it works.  So, as above, the biggest thing I needed to know would happen with homemade shampoo is that my hair would be CLEAN.  Really squeaky clean.  Almost every recipe I read had horrible sentences like “it’ll probably take a few weeks until your hair adjusts to the new shampoo, it might be unpleasant but you can get through it.”  Let me tell you, no I can’t 🙂  I needed something that would be clean right away.  The original person who posted this recipe guaranteed that it actually foamed up really nicely unlike a lot of other homemade shampoos (and she had the same thing about leaving hair feeling clean!).  The ingredients made sense to me for their functional properties.  So, Monday I tried it for the first time.  I was instantly freaking out (while still in the shower)….not clean!!!  But I forced myself to let it go (thinking I wasn’t leaving the house for the rest of the day and I couldn’t possibly scare Bob that badly).  So I let it dry.  Here’s the best way I can describe it (keep in mind I have very short hair):  I haven’t used any sort of “product” in my hair (i.e. hairspray, gel, etc.) since about 1991.  But, it’s what I vaguely remember product feeling like.  The hair felt clean in its own weird way – and very very soft!  But, it just wasn’t moving.  It was a little tough to brush out, and once it dried it wasn’t moving.  I was a little creeped out for the rest of the day, and by bedtime I was resolved to go back to the normal stuff in the morning before work.  So, this morning I got up, and it seemed less…creepy.  A little softer and fluffier, closer to its usual self.  So, I thought “ok, I can do this!  I’ll use it AND leave the house.”  Bad idea.  I spent the entire day at work being creeped out because…again…it wasn’t moving!!  I drove home with both car windows open…not moving.  Ran three miles (disgusting sweaty ick)….STILL not moving lol.  That was the end of it.
  • So – after that VERY long rant….let’s say this.  It was better than I expected.  It was delightfully foamy (you can’t lather it in your hands though, just squirt in hand and put directly on head!).  My hair didn’t feel greasy or dirty, just weird for the girl who uses no hair products ever.  As the day progressed it did seem to get better, and was very soft by the end of the day.  I would say positively that this recipe could work well for some people.  I might even keep what I made and use it once in a while (when not leaving the house) because I’m sure the oil and honey are great restoratives for my hair.  But….not a daily thing.

Addendum:

  • I just wanted to add that Bob tried it out the day after I gave up…and he really likes it!  He felt sort of the same way as I did above, but since he regularly puts a little gel or cream in his (also very short) hair he wasn’t as bothered by it as I was.  He is as neurotic about having squeaky clean hair as I am, so it can’t be all that bad 🙂  At this point he is using it daily, and just using regular shampoo once a week to give it a good scrub and get rid of any buildup.
Leave a Reply

