Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and all I could think of was this frozen dinner that I used to really love…I think it was Stouffer’s brand, and I remember it having short pasta, chicken, and broccoli in a creamy sauce.  Since I no longer eat frozen dinners, I was excited to see if this tasted the same (or possibly better!) with much less sodium and other stray ingredients.  Thanks to www.celebrations.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, grilled and cut into chunks (about 2 cups)
  • 2 cups roasted broccoli florets
  • 8 ounces fettuccine
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

  • Cook pasta according to package directions; drain and set aside.
  • In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat.
  • Add garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is golden (1-2 minutes).
  • Whisk in the flour until smooth.
  • Gradually whisk in the chicken broth, yogurt, milk, pepper, and nutmeg.
  • Bring to a low boil, stirring constantly.
  • Lower the heat and simmer, stirring gently, until the mixture thickens (about 3 minutes).
  • Stir in 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese.
  • Add cooked chicken and broccoli to sauce mixture, followed by the cooked pasta.
  • Toss to combine and serve with more Parmesan, if desired.

Notes:

  • I never roasted broccoli before.  I have to say I wasn’t that impressed.  I think if I made this again that I would just steam the broccoli.  Just a personal preference.
  • I tried to make everything all come out at the same time.  If the pasta is finished before you even start the rest of it, it will be one giant cold lump of dough by the time you get to it.
  • I used homemade chicken broth.
  • Those of you who know me know that I’m a cheese lover – don’t be shocked, but I think the 3/4 cup Parmesan was a little overkill!  I know from past recipes that sometimes Parmesan is a bit strong for me.  I might enjoy it more if I just lessened the amount or maybe mixed in a little bit of some other type of cheese.  In all honesty though, it did taste very Alfredo-ish.  I think that’s one of the reasons that I tend to stay away from traditional Alfredo sauce too.
  • It was tasty, and I enjoyed it.  Even though it was “lightened” by using the greek yogurt, it was a little heavier than I’m used to any more.  This is definitely a winner dish and I would recommend to anyone, but I’m not sure it’s something I would eat often.  Right now I just want to curl up in a ball and go to sleep 🙂
Leave a Reply

