Honey Crunch Granola Bars.

Granola Bars!

Granola Bars!

I’ve tried several granola recipes, and I like each one for different qualities.  This one is super easy to make, and holds up better as a bar than some of the others that I’ve tried.  Thanks to www.budget101.com for this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups quick oats
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  • Combine all ingredients in a large bowl; mix well.
  • Press firmly into well greased 15 1/2 x 10 1/2 inch jelly roll pan.
  • Bake at 450 for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown and bubbly.
  • Cool and cut into bars.

Notes:

  • I used a sheet of no-stick foil rather than greasing the pan, it worked fine (and less messy).
  • I added a sprinkle of Craisins for a little variety.
  • My oven does tend to run hot; I kept the temperature at 425 and my edges still got a little burned at the 10 minute mark.  I might try a little lower heat next time.
  • I will tell you that these are definitely made for people with good, strong teeth.  They make nice solid bars that don’t crumble much when you cut/handle them, but you have to either break them into pieces with your hands before eating or be prepared to really crunch through!
  • Having said that, I really am enjoying them.  They have been my breakfast every day this week so far.  I think you could be a little creative with adding dried fruits or nuts/seeds of your choice.  I like how you don’t have to cook the “liquid” ingredients (the sugar/honey/butter combo) together ahead of time, makes it easy to just toss in the pan and walk away.
2 comments

  1. Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

    1. Thanks for the heads up – all the formatting is done through WordPress, I’ll have to test it out and see if there is anything I can do. I hate when that happens when I’m viewing other sites so I’m glad to know about it!

Leave a Reply

