Hearty Soup.

I’m always on the lookout for new soup recipes (since I refuse to eat any form of pre-packaged soup at this point…in fact I won’t even eat it at most restaurants anymore!  Wayyyy too salty).  On a whim a few weeks ago I bought some lentils and different colors of split peas (my brain was subconsciously ready for fall I suppose).  I found this recipe at www.noodlesandnuggets.com.  The original owner of this recipe layers all of the dry ingredients into half pint jars (which looks very pretty by the way).  Makes it easy to grab a batch, add a can of tomatoes and some meat-of-choice to a pot of water, and an hour later you have a tasty meal.  I wanted to try the recipe before putting together a bunch of jars (just in case I hated it, I am a pretty picky eater!).  I’m happy to say that it is very tasty and that there will be a nice stash of these jars on my shelf in the near future.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup split peas
  • 1/8 cup chicken bouillon
  • 1/8 cup pearl barley
  • 1/4 cup dry lentils
  • 1/8 cup onion flakes
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 cup white rice
  • 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 to 1 pound meat of your choice
  • 6 cups water
  • 1/4 cup pasta

Instructions:

  • To make ahead, layer all dry ingredients (except pasta) in a half pint jar.
  • To cook, add dry ingredients (except pasta) plus diced tomatoes and cooked meat to 6 cups water.
  • Bring to a boil, then simmer for 45 minutes.
  • Add pasta and simmer for another 15-20 minutes.

Notes:

  • I used no sodium chicken bouillon.
  • I don’t have anything labeled “Italian Seasoning” so I did 1/2 teaspoon of oregano and 1/2 teaspoon of basil.
  • The original recipe suggested smoked turkey sausage.  I had some leftover ham on hand in the freezer so I substituted that (dicing it into small pieces).
  • I used alphabet pasta.
  • Having said all that…it’s very tasty!  I just ate a spoonful as it was cooling to test it out and I can’t stop thinking about going back for that full bowl.  Glad I don’t have to think about what to have for dinner tonight!  🙂  I was concerned that the no-sodium bouillon would mean I’d have to add in some salt later on, but I think the ham took care of that for me.

Addendum:

  • If you happen to have ham juice or stock on hand, substitute one to two cups of it for the water in this recipe.  It gives it great flavor!
Leave a Reply

