Natural Room Scents.

I’ve experimented with a variety of “air fresheners”.  Most of them have a vinegar base, which does eliminate bad odors but also leaves behind an odor of its own.  I stumbled across this idea a while back – more of an all-day-keep-the-house-fresh idea than a spray-to-immediately-neutralize-something-nasty one.  I can’t even begin to replicate how nicely the original blog was done – so I would highly recommend that you view it at http://www.theyummylife.com/Natural_Room_Scents.  The basic idea is that you get a pint jar, combine a proscribed list of fruits/herbs/spices/etc., add water, and then heat to release the scent throughout the house.  I’m going to list the two batches that I experimented with so far, but again – the original blog is amazing and will give you some other combinations to think about.

Orange, Cinnamon, and Spice:

  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 2 cinnamon sticks (or 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon)
  • 1/2 tablespoon whole cloves (or 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves)
  • 1/2 tablespoon whole allspice (or 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice)
  • 1 anise star

Lemon, Rosemary, and Vanilla:

  • 2 lemons, sliced
  • 3 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Notes:

  • I tried to use as many “whole” spices as I could just because they looked like so much fun (I still keep getting the anise stars out of the cabinet and showing them to Bob).  I’m sure the smell comes out the same and it’s probably a lot cheaper to use the ground spices, but for now I’m entertaining myself with the more aesthetic version 🙂
  • As you’ll see in the original post, there are multiple ways to heat the concoction once it’s made – from boiling it in a pan on the stove, to using a crockpot (big or small), to using electric candle warmers, or tea-light candles…I tried to go with the safe and easy path and used my small crockpot.  It does recommend to microwave the mixture to get it good and hot before putting in the relatively low-heat crockpot (and keep an eye out to make sure the water does not completely evaporate).  It does work and it smells great – but unfortunately it doesn’t travel far.  So my kitchen smells really good and the rest of my house isn’t touched.  Guess you could rotate and put it in a different room each day!
  • At the end of the day, you can pour the mixture back into the jar and store it in the refrigerator.  It can be re-used two to three times before it loses its scent.
  • I can’t imagine that this will be something that I will keep up with doing on a daily basis, but it’s a good idea and it’ll be fun for times when I want to be bothered with it.  The possibilities of what you could mix together are endless!
Leave a Reply

