Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats.

Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats.

Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats.

I really don’t like oatmeal very much,  but I just can’t seem to stop trying recipes to see if I can find that one magic one that tastes good to me!  Thanks to mywholefoodlife.com for this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup steel cut or rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon flax meal
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup milk (depending on how thick or thin you like your oatmeal)

Instructions:

  • Put all ingredients in a half pint mason jar and mix well.
  • Refrigerate overnight.
  • Eat cold or heat if desired.

Notes:

  • Well, it was hands-down better than any packet of store-bought apple cinnamon oatmeal that I’ve had.
  • I used 1/2 steel cut oats and 1/2 rolled oats.  The original recipe said that the steel cut oats would stay crunchy/chewy and the rolled wouldn’t.  I think if I made it again I would do all rolled oats.  The chewy thing wasn’t doing it for me.
  • I think a normal, oatmeal-loving person would really enjoy this!
Leave a Reply

