Smokey Roasted Chickpeas.

I think I came across this on Pinterest and it just looked tasty.  I’m not huge on plain chickpeas (although I do like hummus) but I thought I would give this a try.  Thanks to mywholefoodlife.com.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (two cups) chickpeas, drained
  • 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • In a bowl, mix all ingredients.
  • Make sure all beans are coated well with the spices.
  • Spread beans in a single layer on a lined baking sheet.
  • Bake about 40 to 60 minutes, stopping to shake the pan every 15 minutes.
  • Wait until beans are completed cooled before storing.

Notes:

  • Bob and I really liked these!  They get very crunchy and have a good flavor.
  • Getting them to be crunchy without burning them is a little tricky.  You’ll notice the time frame above is a little vague.  I did the first batch for 50 minutes and completely scorched it.  So I made another, I cut the temperature back 10 degrees (my oven does tend to run a little hot) and did 45 minutes.  Some pieces got crunchy without being burned but some were still a little soft.  The softer ones tasted good too, but if you’re going for crunchy you may have to make a few tries to get the exact time and temperature for your oven correct.  They do firm up as they cool also.
  • The original post said that lining your jar/container with a layer of rice before adding the chickpeas will help them to stay crisp.
Leave a Reply

