Oven-Steamed Green Beans.

Oven-Steamed Green Beans.

Oven-Steamed Green Beans.

I’m always amazed at the sheer size of the frozen vegetable section in the grocery store.  I honestly didn’t learn to enjoy veggies until I discovered that fresh produce is the only way to go.  And, if something you love is only in season for a few months (or even a few weeks!), it’s better to enjoy it during that time and forget about it for the rest of the year vs. eating substandard frozen/canned/not properly ripened versions.  But, that’s just my personal opinion and really doesn’t have anything to do with green beans, since I can get them fresh at my local farmer’s market year round and they are delicious.  Not quite as delicious as “I-just-picked-these-from-the-garden-and-put-them-straight-on-the-stove” green beans, but pretty darn close.

I came up with this recipe over the summer when I was looking for variations on the plain “steamed green beans with brown butter” that we usually have.  It’s perfect because you can make it in the oven or on the grill during the summer.  And, since you’re just wrapping the beans in a piece of foil, there is no pan to clean up.  Can’t beat that.

Ingredients:

  • Green beans, cleaned and broken into bite-sized pieces
  • Olive oil
  • Salt/Pepper/seasoning to taste (click here for a homemade salt substitute that goes very well in this recipe!)
  • Seasoned bread crumbs (click here to find out how to make your own!)

Instructions:

  • Put cleaned green beans in a bowl.
  • Add olive oil (approximately 1 teaspoon of oil per helping, enough just to moisten the beans).
  • Add seasoning to taste.
  • Sprinkle on enough bread crumbs to make a thin layer over the top of the beans.
  • Mix everything together until the beans are evenly coated.
  • Pour beans onto a sheet of foil (large enough to fold shut to make a sealed packet).
  • Cook sealed packet in the oven (anywhere between 350 and 400 degrees) or on the grill for approximately 20 minutes.

Notes:

  • As you can see in the picture, the beans steam up perfectly in the foil without any additional water.  I couldn’t wait for them to stop steaming for the picture because I wanted to eat them hot 🙂  They are tender and flavorful!
  • This is a great recipe for single-serving meals – I often have to cook for just myself, so I can make exactly as many beans as I want without having to make a “full recipe” of something.  The cooking time and temperature are really flexible, I usually just put them in (oven or grill) with whatever else I’m making and forget about them.  20 minutes seems to be a good average.
Leave a Reply

