Meatballs.

Meatballs!

Meatballs!

Growing up in a partially Italian family meant that I didn’t eat a store-bought meatball until probably after I moved out of the house.  I had a thing about touching raw meat and I vowed never to do it…until I realized I either suck it up, or never eat homemade food again!.  After a couple of years of Mama Lucia (which, granted, was very tolerable), I decided that I had to get over it and make homemade.  This is my family’s recipe, it’s simple to make and delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 4 slices stale bread
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese
  • parsley flakes
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  • Place raw ground beef into a large bowl.
  • Add eggs and Parmesan cheese.
  • Wet bread in water, squeeze and crumble into other ingredients.
  • Add seasonings; mix.
  • Roll meat mixture into balls.
  • Cover bottom of a frying pan with oil (about 1/4 inch deep).
  • Heat oil at medium.
  • Add meatballs and fry, turning with a fork twice, until all sides are browned.
  • Drain.

Notes:

  • This is one of those recipes where if you’re going to make a mess, make it worth your while.  I tend to make at least two to three pounds at a time.  The meatballs freeze well, so you can just store them away and grab out as many as you need at a time.
  • Stale bread is key; if you use fresh bread it is a real pain to crumble.
  • It’s also very important to have patience when frying the meatballs…I think it’s human nature to want to poke and prod and see how they’re doing, but if you start messing with them before the first side finishes getting brown they will fall to pieces.
  • You can choose the size of the meatballs; I prefer them to be a little smaller than average because then you get more browny edges 🙂
  • These go great in spaghetti sauce, or just plain also.
Leave a Reply

