Silver Jewelry Polish.

rings after soaking in silver cleaner!

rings after soaking in silver cleaner!

Bob brought me this lovely silver ring that he found for me at Goodwill, it was a perfect fit and I loved it instantly.  Unfortunately it was in pretty bad shape on the one side, very tarnished.  We’ve come to the conclusion now that it was a pretty cheap ring so there wasn’t much I could’ve done with it.  But, in the meantime, I searched online for a recipe for homemade silver jewelry polish and tested it out on all of my rings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • piece of aluminum foil (and pan to line it with)
  • 1/2 cup vinegar

Instructions:

  • Mix together boiling water, salt, and baking soda.
  • Line a small pan with aluminum foil and position jewelry in a single layer.
  • Pour water solution into pan.
  • Add vinegar.
  • Let soak 5-10 minutes, stirring if needed to get all sides of the jewelry clean.

Notes:

  • It is sort of fun to watch, it gets all bubbly and fizzy.
  • I have loads of cheap jewelry so I can’t guarantee how this would work on anything of value.  However, the majority of my rings (most of which are sterling silver) did clean up nicely.  The only one that didn’t was (of course) the one that I really made the polish for!  As I said above though, you can tell it was a cheapie ring.
  • Easy and cheap to make, worthwhile dunking your jewelry into to see what happens.  Again, if you have valuable jewelry, try this at your own risk.
Leave a Reply

