Canning Beef Stew.

Next on my list of things to put in the pressure canner…beef stew!  I found a very simple recipe at www.week99er.com.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2 pounds beef stew, cubed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 8 cups beef broth/stock
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 8 carrots, sliced
  • 6 potatoes, cubed
  • 3 stalks of celery, sliced

Instructions:

  • In a large pan, heat up oil.
  • Add in beef and cook until all sides are brown.
  • Add in spices, vegetables, and beef stock.
  • Cook on medium heat for about 20 minutes.
  • Remove bay leaf.
  • Ladle stew into prepared canning jars leaving 1/4 inch of headspace, and process at 10 pounds of pressure for 90 minutes.

Notes:

  • I got a little carried away with the veggies….how do you judge those types of veggies by a number, potatoes can be tiny or huge and so can carrots!  So I just put a bunch in (a little extra) and ended up needing a little more broth.  It worked out.
  • I was cheap and used water & beef bouillon instead of broth/stock.
  • I didn’t have any Worcestershire sauce.  I was actually kind of curious to know what sort of flavor it would add but now I’ll never know.  Probably just makes it a little saltier.
  • This recipe made 7 pint jars and 7 3/4 pint jars (yes, I’m a weirdo…a pint jar is the perfect amount for Bob to eat in a serving, but that’s a little too much for me.  A 1/2 pint jar is too small.  Hence the 3/4 pint jars.)
  • So, the final result – the flavor was good, simple and unexciting but still enjoyable.  It went well with my toasted cheese sandwich for lunch.  One thing that I was a little disappointed with was the consistency – the original recipe said it would thicken up when processing in the canner, but it really didn’t.  Could be that I had to fudge the amount of broth because of the overindulgence with the veggies.  I’ve read that you should never add thickeners (i.e. flour) to broths when canning because it can interfere with the sealing process so this might just be something to learn to live with.  I think a handful of crumbled saltine crackers would resolve the issue nicely.
2 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing this! FYI, if you have soy sauce, it makes a good substitution for Worcestershire sauce.

    1. Thanks for the tip – I actually remember reading about that somewhere before and I almost tried it, but at the last minute I just let it go because I didn’t want to ruin the rest of the recipe based on my faulty memory 🙂

Leave a Reply

