Crocheted Swiffer Covers.

Swiffer cover!

Swiffer cover!

I always liked the Swiffer idea because a regular mop is just disgusting…..sticking the dirty mop into the dirty water and back onto what’s supposed to be the clean floor….not working for me.  However, the little Swiffer wipes are expensive.  I saw this on Pinterest and decided to give it a try.  They are quick to make, and if you make even ten of them to have on hand (I hate cleaning so I’d only need about two lol), you could be all set to clean without using the same one to the point of nastiness (before you wash them all and reuse!).  Thanks to www.favecrafts.com for the instructions.

Materials:

  • yarn of your choice (can be scrap, you’re only cleaning with it so it really doesn’t matter)
  • size H or 8 crochet hook

Instructions:

Main Piece

  • Ch 37.
  • 1st row: 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook.  1 sc in each ch across.  Turn. 36 sc.
  • 2nd row: Ch 1.  Working in back loop only of each sc, 1 sc in each sc across.  Turn.
  • Repeat last row until work from beginning measures 4 inches.  Fasten off.

Side Pieces (make 2)

  • 1st row: 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook. 1 sc in each ch across. Turn. 11 sc.
  • Repeat as for the main piece.

Join sides to main piece:

  • Place 1 Side at each end of Main Piece and pin outer edges tog.
  • With RS facing, join yarn with sl st in any corner.
  • Ch 1.
  • Work 1 row of sc around outer edge (through both thicknesses of Side and Main Piece at each end), working 3 sc in each corner.
  • Join with sl st to first sc.
  • Fasten off.

Notes:

  • To learn how to do any of the stitches above, a good resource is about.com.  They have a crochet section that is simple and easy to understand.  Believe me when I say that the stitches required to make this are simple, as the level of my crochet skills is probably on par with a five-year-old.
  • The original instructions say that it’s better to make it too small vs. too big.  Keep in mind when you’re measuring your cover against your Swiffer – when you finish making all of the pieces, you do have to stitch them together – so you’re going to lose a little edge space in the process.  My first attempt was VERY very tight, I could barely get it on.
  • I had to modify my instructions slightly, because when I went to find out what kind of crochet hooks I had laying around, I discovered that I had 2 G’s and 2 I’s.  I’m sure I pilfered all four of them from my mother at some point in my life (sorry Mom!).  Some day I should buy an H hook since it seems to be popular and I never have one.  I went with the G hook, so on my first attempt I added 5 extra stitches to the big piece and 3 to the smaller ones.  As I said, very tight.  I’m making a second one that has 10 extra stitches on the big piece and 5 for the smaller ones.  Hopefully that’ll work a little better.
  • These go very quickly, I made the first one over three evenings and I probably didn’t do more than an hour or so per evening.  You could easily make up a nice little pile of these to keep on hand.
  • You can also apparently knit a similar pattern, the instructions are available at the favecrafts.com link listed above.  There is way too much counting involved in knitting for me (and too many needles lol) so I can’t even begin to comment on the pattern.  It’s there if you want to try it!
One comment

  1. What a great and eco-friendly way to clean!

Leave a Reply

