Coffee Body Scrub.

Coffee Body Scrub.

Coffee Body Scrub.

Since I am always compelled to have multiple kinds of soaps and scrubs in my shower at any given moment, I decided to try this new coffee scrub recipe that I found.  Thanks to thecoconutmama.com for the idea!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup ground organic coffee
  • 1 cup organic sugar or salt
  • 1/2 cup organic coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla (optional)

Instructions:

  • Melt coconut oil and allow it cool (but not solidify).
  • Mix all ingredients together and store in an airtight container or mason jar.

Notes:

  • I used all the optional items.  It does smell good!
  • I halved the recipe for the experiment, it sounded like it made a lot (and it did).  I used sugar (not salt).
  • As for how well it works – the coffee definitely does scrub!  My normal tried-and-true coconut oil/sugar scrub has a different ratio of scrubby ingredients to oil (this is 4 to 1 vs. the 2 to 1 ratio that I’m used to).  I’m sure it also depends on how finely you grind the coffee, but you definitely feel the scrubbing!!  Almost a little painful but it does feel good afterwards.  I don’t intend to use this more than once or twice a week (or I may not have any skin left :)).
  • One downside – it does make a terrible mess in the tub.  If you are (or live with) a coffee drinker, you know how coffee grinds get all over the sink when you’re trying to rinse them out of something….this is on a much grander scale.  I would recommend taking a cup or bowl into the shower with you to help rinse everything clean when you’re done!
  • I always recommend putting shower items in plastic containers (although I’m usually a huge advocate of glass container storage!) – I know I’m a klutz and I drop things in the tub all the time, and you definitely don’t want glass in there.  Even if it does look a lot prettier.  🙂
Leave a Reply

