Granola.

I couldn’t believe that I never posted this recipe before (I went to re-share it today and couldn’t find it!).  This is a tried and true recipe that I have been making for several years now.  I first received a jar of the finished product from my cousin for Christmas one year, and she kindly shared the recipe with me afterwards since I enjoyed it so much.  This is the first granola (homemade or store-bought) that really turned me on to eating it.  I make this regularly for both me and my mom.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 3/4 cup sweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup raisins (optional)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
  • In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar.
  • In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt.
  • Combine both mixtures and pour onto two sheet pans.
  • Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.
  • Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl.
  • Add raisins and mix until evenly distributed.

Notes:

  • I personally don’t add the raisins.  Originally they didn’t bother me, but Mom wasn’t really into them that much so I started leaving them out.  Now I’ve grown accustomed to not having them in there.  If you don’t add the raisins, you can omit the last two steps and just let the granola cool on the pans.
  • I rotate the pans between oven racks every time I stir.  My oven seems to always be hotter on one rack than the other, so this keeps everything even.
  • I also line the pans with foil.  Any time I can save washing a dish….
  • My favorite use for this is mixed in yogurt.  Bob likes to just eat it from the jar as is.  Mom swears it makes a great ice cream topping.  I’ve never tried it but it sounds like it makes sense!  🙂
Leave a Reply

