Stir Fry Mix.

I mixed up a jar of homemade stir-fry mix (powder) a while back, but still had some store-bought packets to get rid of.  Cheapie me had to use up what I had even though I was dying to try the new recipe.  Finally had a chance tonight!  Thanks to www.food.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup chicken bouillon
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dried minced onions
  • 2 tablespoons instant garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red bell pepper (dried)

Instructions:

  • In a small bowl, stir all ingredients until blended.
  • Store in an airtight container in a cool place.

To Use:

  • Stir mixture before measuring.
  • Use like any dry stir-fry mix.
  • 1 tablespoon equals 1 packet.

Notes:

  • This mix fit nicely into a pint ball jar.
  • I’m not sure I agree with the “1 tablespoon equals 1 packet”.  I started with that, thought it looked like less powder in the bowl than usual.  Then when it wasn’t really thickening quickly like the store-bought kind, I sprinkled in probably another half tablespoon.  I think you could easily do 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of the dry mix (I’ll continue to experiment and post what works best when I find it).
  • Love the “use like any dry stir-fry mix” instruction.  Very helpful.  🙂  In case you wanted to know, the standard packet of Sunbird Stir-Fry mix says you add 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 teaspoons sugar, and 1/3 cup water to your dry mix.  This is supposed to be used with a pound of meat plus veggies (instructions suggest 1 pepper, 1 onion, 2 celery stalks, 2 carrots, and 1/4 broccoli florets).
  • I tend to use a lot less meat (cheaper, plus healthier) and more veggies/rice.  In my meal tonight, I had a very small piece of chicken breast (maybe 1/4 pound?) which I cut into tiny pieces.  My veggies consisted of half a pepper, one small head of broccoli, and a handful each of green beans and baby carrots (carrots cut in half lengthwise).  The beauty of stir-fry is….you can toss in just about anything you like, so be creative!
  • I use low-sodium soy sauce (is there ever really a need to use full-sodium soy sauce???  lol).  Bob and I also found this sesame chili oil at the cheapie grocery store a little while back, so I add a little extra flavor by substituting 1 tablespoon of chili oil for 1 of the 2 tablespoons of soy sauce.
  • If you followed my Facebook post about making rice ahead of time, this can be a really quick meal for a work night.  (If you didn’t read the post, it’s easy – make a big pot of rice.  Divide the rice into little packets (I use snack baggies).  Freeze.  Reheat individual servings for anything from burritos to stir fry to vegetable rice soup.)
  • End result – I was pleased.  As with almost every homemade mix replacement I’ve made, at first bite you think you’re really missing something, but as you continue on you realize that it has a good taste of its own, it just isn’t going to be exactly the same.  I would definitely recommend, and will put it to the test by feeding it to Bob next time around.
Leave a Reply

