Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug.

Where's my spoon!!

Where’s my spoon!!

This is probably ones of those recipes that no one really should even know about.  It is WAY too easy.  But, on one of those nights when you’re just craving a little something sweet and there is nothing in the house (which is usually how I try to keep it), this comes in handy.  Thanks to number-2-pencil.com for the recipe (and p.s. their website has recipes for other cookies in a mug that you may enjoy!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon firmly packed brown sugar
  • 3 drops vanilla extract
  • small pinch salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • scant 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

  • Melt the butter in a mug in the microwave; should be just melted and not boiling.
  • Add sugars, vanilla, and salt.  Stir to combine.
  • Separate egg and discard white, add the yolk only to the cup.  Stir.
  • Add flour, then stir again.
  • Add chocolate chips and stir a final time.
  • Cook in microwave for 40-60 seconds; start checking for doneness at 40 seconds.
  • Do not cook past one minute; just like a regular cookie it will continue to cook as it cools.
  • Serve warm.

Notes:

  • I was ready to stop at the cookie dough, but I did finish the recipe all the way through and enjoyed the results.
  • I actually (for once!) did not make a single change to this and it came out perfectly.
  • I cooked for 50 seconds.
  • Since I am not a huge chocolate fan, I would consider halving the amount of chocolate chips next time.  But, if you like chocolate, go for the full amount.
  • I used a pretty big mug (kind of a giant one that I use for soup).  I figured it might cook more evenly if it was flatter.  Seemed to work ok.
  • Way too quick and easy.  I had a warm chocolate chip cookie in my hand in about five minutes, using ingredients that are pretty much staples in my house.
Leave a Reply

