Simple Sesame Noodles.

Anyone who came of age in my generation (unless they were exceptionally lucky!) remembers living on Ramen noodles at one point or another after moving out into their own place.  You know, they cost about 7 cents a packet and you had a whole meal!  Although they are nutritionally horrible for you, sometimes I still get that craving for a pack.  I found this recipe online, and I’m dubbing it the “grown-up version” of Ramen noodles.  Very simple and filling, but without any of the scary ingredients (and the sodium content!) of a pre-made packet.  Thanks to thepioneerwoman.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces thin noodles, cooked and drained
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot chili oil
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 whole green onions, sliced thin

Instructions:

  • Whisk all ingredients (except noodles and green onions) together in a bowl.
  • Pour sauce over warm noodles and toss to coat.
  • Sprinkle with green onions and toss.

Notes:

  • As you can see from the picture, I found a nice packet of thin noodles in the Asian section of my grocery store.  They’re not rice noodles (although I’m sure you could use them also), and are thinner than the usual Ramen noodles that you buy with the little packet.  You could substitute a lot of things, including the regular cheapie Ramen noodles (without using the flavor packet), thin spaghetti, etc.  I enjoyed these, they made the meal very light but still filling.
  • My pack of noodles was 8 ounces (neatly separated into two 4-ounce bunches), so I made 4 ounces of noodles for myself and used 1/3 of all other ingredients.  It filled a nice sized bowl (and my belly! :)).
  • I didn’t have any fresh garlic on hand so I just sprinkled in a little garlic powder.  My hot chili oil is actually sesame hot chili oil, so I got a little extra sesame flavor.  The original recipe called for canola oil instead of olive oil; I don’t eat canola anymore so I just substituted.  You could use any “plain” carrier oil that helps add to the volume but doesn’t change the overall flavor.  And, I used reduced-sodium soy sauce.
  • Final answer – very enjoyable!  It cooks up quickly (noodles only take about 3 minutes to boil, it took me longer to find all of the bottles that I needed in my cabinets to mix the sauce together).  It has a good flavor, not very strong but enough to make it interesting.  And, light, but filling.  I would highly recommend for a quick meal at any time.
  • Bob and I have discovered that the sauce from this recipe makes ramen noodles taste amazing!  Instead of using the flavor pack, make a quarter of the recipe above and pour the sauce over the cooked ramen noodles.  I am a little fussier about the noodles, I found a brand called Kame that makes pre-cooked noodles (remind you of lo mein) that are organic and heat in the microwave in 90 seconds.  Bob is ok with the standard brick of cheapie ramen noodles, he makes them and then drains out the water and adds the sauce.  I make the sauce the night before when packing lunch for work, put it in a little jar, and then pour over the noodles after they are heated at lunchtime.  See below for the single serving version:

Quick and Easy Single Serving Ingredients:

  • 1 serving ramen noodles, cooked
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons rice vinegar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon hot chili oil
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • sprinkle garlic powder
  • sprinkle onion powder
Leave a Reply

