Freezer Biscuits.

I’m always on the lookout for items I can make ahead of time and then pull out in whatever portion size I need….often I eat dinner alone so I need single servings, but sometimes I have Bob with me too and then I need extra.  I had to give up store-bought biscuits (in the little tubes) after seeing all the scary ingredients in them, but it’s generally not worth it for me to make an entire batch of homemade biscuits just for myself.  This recipe looked simple and fit my needs perfectly.  Thanks to moneysavingmom.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup shortening, butter, or coconut oil
  • 1 3/4 cups milk

Instructions:

  • Mix dry ingredients together.
  • Add in shortening or butter and mix until crumbly (a Kitchen-Aid or food processor will save time and effort)
  • Add in milk and mix until a ball forms.
  • Roll out onto a floured surface and cut into biscuits.
  • To freeze: freeze on a cookie sheet for 1-2 hours.  Then remove and place in an airtight freezer bag.
  • To bake: pull the desired number of biscuits out and let thaw for 30-60 minutes.  Bake at 450 degrees for 8-12 minutes.  You can bake them straight from the freezer but they won’t rise much.
  • Makes 24 biscuits.

Notes:

  • I used whole wheat flour (found a bag of King Arthur’s for $1 at the local bump and dent grocery store…love those finds!).  I used butter, and substituted almond milk for regular.
  • This was my first opportunity to play with my newly inherited Kitchen-Aid mixer (thanks Mom!).  It worked really well.  That thing is going to save my poor tired hands a lot.
  • I always struggle with rolling out dough for biscuits because usually the only thing I roll out dough for is cutout cookies….that makes for some really flat biscuits 🙂  I think I either (even when trying) still rolled the dough out pretty thin, or maybe my “biscuit glass” is smaller than average, because I got 30 biscuits out of this recipe, not 24.
  • And, as you can see in the pictures, the infamous “fishy cups” got to come out to play…they make perfect biscuit cutters.
  • I pulled the first two biscuits out of the freezer tonight to test them out.  I only let them sit for 15 minutes (I never was good at planning), and then I baked them for about 12 minutes at 375 degrees (because I already had the oven on for something else).  I thought they came out fine.
  • These are very simple and plain biscuits – so if you are looking for a knock-off of extra butter flavored Grands, this is not it.  I found most pre-packaged biscuits to be overly sickening anyway (too greasy or fake buttery, even when I used to eat all that stuff!), so this recipe sat very well with me.  I do have another biscuit recipe that is delicious (has honey in it, I will have to share that one sometime too)….I’ll have to experiment with freezing those for a little variety.  Regardless, I liked this recipe.  I could easily see this becoming a staple.
Leave a Reply

