Canning Pulled Pork.

I’m really loving the concept of storing meat in jars rather than in the freezer.  It’s excellent on many levels – saves room in the freezer (which I never seem to have any of), avoids freezerburn, easy to reheat and use….I can’t stop finding new meats to put in jars 🙂  This is my latest venture – shredded pork.  Thanks to sbcanning.com for the recipe.  Ignore the jars of chili photobombing the pork jars in the picture above – they just wanted to get in on the fun but have nothing to do with this recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 3-5 pounds pork butt, cooked and shredded
  • 1 jar BBQ sauce (optional)
  • 1 quart beef stock or water

Instructions:

  • Fill pint jars 3/4 full with pork.
  • Add 1/4 cup BBQ sauce to each jar if desired; otherwise fill jars with stock or water to 1 inch headspace.
  • Remove air bubbles and refill to proper headspace if necessary.
  • Seal jars and process at 75 minutes for pints (90 minutes for quarts) at 10 pounds of pressure.

Notes:

  • This was a pretty vague recipe, but it got the important information across.  To clean up a few blind spots:
  • I always cook pork butt in the oven.  Put the roast in a pan with the fatty side up, season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.  Add water to the bottom of the pan; cover and cook for a good three hours (more depending on the size of the roast).  The meat should shred apart easily when it’s done.  My aunt taught me to sample the good burny bits from the top of the roast when it’s done, it’s a very important step!  Once the roast is done, clean the meat and shred.  You can also cook in a crockpot, but I’ve never tried it personally.
  • I wasn’t up for the BBQ sauce, so I went with plain water.  Beef stock sounded wrong to go with the pork.  I thought about using some of my homemade ham stock, but I didn’t want to mess with the perfect flavor of the pork roast, so water seemed the easiest answer.
  • I used half pint jars (with the intention of using this for single serve sandwiches, one jar will give you one or two sandwiches, depending on how full you stuff the rolls).  They process at the same time as the pint jars.  I got 8 half pint jars out of approximately a four pound roast (which sounds about right, usually a half pint can hold about a half pound of meat).
  • This is one of those things where if you find a good sale, buy several roasts at once and stock up.  Canning is a mess, so the more you can process in one batch the better off you are.  Make the mess worth your while!
2 comments

  1. Wow this is such a smart idea! I made pulled pork and I love the idea of canning it to save for later. Check out my recipe if you get a chance! http://huntershealthykitchen.com/2015/01/10/the-best-pulled-pork-recipe-ever/

  2. Thanks! This is a quick and easy way to prepare ahead without having to worry about the freezer later on. I will be sure to check out your link!

Leave a Reply

