Zucchini Chips.

I wanted to try these for ages.  Another excellent recipe from 100daysofrealfood.com.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized zucchinis
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  • Thinly slice zucchini into 1/8″ thick round pieces.
  • Beat eggs in a shallow bowl.
  • Mix bread crumbs, cheese, and seasonings in a bowl (using a food processor if necessary for grated Parmesan cheese vs. the powdered kind).
  • Pour a thin layer of oil in a medium to large saute pan, and heat on medium while preparing the zucchini.
  • Make an assembly line in the following order: raw zucchini slices, beaten egg, bread crumb mixture, and empty place.
  • Using one hand as your wet hand, coat a few slices of zucchini with the egg and shake off the excess.
  • Drop those pieces into the bread crumb mixture, and use your other dry hand to coat with bread crumbs.
  • Shake off excess bread crumbs and transfer the coated zucchini slices to the clean plate.
  • Once enough slices are coated to cover the bottom of the pan, slide them into the oil to start cooking.
  • Continue breading the remaining zucchini, checking the pan after 2-3 minutes to see if the bottom of the zucchini are turning golden brown.
  • Once brown, flip them over and add more oil if needed (to keep the bottoms wet).
  • Once both sides are done, transfer to a paper towel lined plate and keep warm.
  • Repeat process until all zucchini are cooked.
  • Arrange on a serving platter and garnish with shredded Parmesan cheese if desired.

Notes:

  • While I thought these were absolutely delicious, I probably won’t make them again.  My “old” stomach can no longer tolerate as many fried foods as it used to – and while these were good, I enjoy my baked zucchini fries just as much (and they agree with me so much better!).  I would still highly recommend these to anyone, it is a solid recipe and very tasty.
  • I was excited to use my mandolin slicer (seems like I hardly ever find a way to use that thing).  It made having perfectly even slices very simple to do.
  • I reduced the recipe for a single person,  The coating process is very similar to what I use to make chicken cutlets, so I’m used to sort of just dumping some eggs in one bowl and some bread crumbs in another and making it work.  The proportions aren’t an exact science.
  • I fry everything in coconut oil.  Just a personal preference.
Leave a Reply

