Canning Black Raspberry Soda Syrup.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…I LOVE black raspberries 🙂  Always looking for ways to preserve them and enjoy later in the year.  I came across this recipe just after raspberry season last year so I’ve been anxiously waiting to try it out.  Thanks to foodinjars.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups black raspberries
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar

Instructions:

  • Mash raspberries (I used a food processor but you can do it in any creative way that you like).
  • Put in pot along with water and sugar; stir.
  • Bring mixture to a quick simmer and cook 5-6 minutes.
  • Remove seeds if desired.
  • Pour into jars and process pints or half pints for 10 minutes in a water bath canner.
  • Mix with sparkling water to serve.

Notes:

  • First, remember that black raspberries make a huge mess and they really can stain.  Don’t wear anything that you love while working!
  • The part about “bring mixture to a quick simmer and cook 5-6 minutes” sort of baffled me.  I don’t really know what a quick simmer is.  I translated it to “heat it on a smidge above medium for about 10 minutes”, pretending that it would take 4-5 minutes to reach a quick simmer lol.  Seemed to work ok 🙂  It’s not like a jam where you have to really get it to reach an exact temperature to thicken and set, really you’re just heating it until the sugar dissolves well and the mixture is heated for the canner.
  • I didn’t bother removing the seeds, they don’t bother me.  It is a bit distracting to get mouthfuls of seeds while you’re drinking, but I hate messing around with straining and it just wasn’t worth it to me.  If you have the energy or are totally creeped out by the seeds as many people are, go for it!  I would imagine that a food mill would make quick work of that.
  • Be careful not to overfill – I left about 1/4 inch headspace because that seems to be the average when doing fruity things, but I think I would do more like 1/2 inch next time.  My first batch had two jars that didn’t seal because they overflowed, and several more that are miracles that they sealed at all.  I used 1/2 pint jars.
  • If you’re not interested in canning and just want to make a small batch to enjoy immediately, you can cook as above and put straight in the fridge when cooled.
  • I mixed about 1/2 of my 1/2 pint jar (so 1/4 pint) with an 8 ounce jar of San Pellegrino sparkling water.  So about a 1 to 2 ratio of syrup to water.  I think that is a completely personal thing for everyone.  It is definitely very sweet.  I love the raspberries so much that I could just about eat this out of the jar with a spoon, so for me it’s adding a bit of water to my syrup lol.  You may be a better (healthier) person and just want to add a splash of flavor to your sparkling water.  Totally up to you.
  • I picked about 9+ pounds of raspberries and that got me 8 batches – 23 jars.  I did them in two batches of four (not like a jam recipe where you cannot double or triple for fear of messing up the consistency).
  • Very tasty results, I know I will be in heaven mid-winter when there is no local fresh fruit to be found!
Leave a Reply

