Scented Wax Melts.

I’ve been intrigued with the idea of scented wax melts for a while.  Candles are nice, but they get to be expensive.  By making your own melts, you can save some money and choose the exact scent that you want.  You also control what goes into the melts so that you are only releasing pure “residue” into the air in your home.  Thanks to healthylivinghowto.com for the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 ounces beeswax, grated
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 20 drops essential oils
  • 1 teaspoon food grade extracts
  • other inclusions such as dried flowers, spices, or coffee beans

Instructions:

  • Place beeswax and coconut oil in a double boiler (or jury rig your own using a glass bowl/measuring cup in a saucepan).
  • Over medium heat, stir the oil and wax together until they are melted and combined.
  • Remove from heat and stir in essential oils or extracts.
  • Pour mixture into molds.
  • Add inclusions if desired.
  • When melts are cooled or hardened, melt in a warmer.

Notes:

  • Beeswax in a brick is incredibly hard and tough to work with.  I can’t imagine that grating it is a ton of fun.  I cheated and got beeswax pellets.  They worked very well!
  • The mixture of the oils/extracts/inclusions is as varied as you want it to be.  I kept it very simple and used a combination of cinnamon and clove essential oils.  I could have added whole cloves to the mix to make it pretty (but I was lazy :)).  You could use vanilla extract and coffee beans, floral essential oils and dried flowers…get as creative as you like!
  • This recipe didn’t seem like it was going to make very much.  I felt like if I was going to make a mess that I was gonna make it worth my while.  I’m not sure why I was thinking that I would only get to use a tart once.  I have been using the same tart now for at least 10-15 four hour sessions and it has plenty of life left in it.  So don’t feel compelled to go crazy.  I think I quadrupled the recipe and I have enough tarts to last me for several years lol.
  • You could use any sort of mold that you wanted (even just pouring it into one big flat pan and then cutting or breaking up the block after it cools).  I’ve been picking up various molds along my discount/thrift store travels so I could have some pretty designs.
  • Aside from the usual mess of working with oil and beeswax (always a fun load of dishes afterwards!), these were incredibly simple to make.  They make my house smell good with a minimum of fuss, just light a tealight candle in the warmer and it lasts all evening.  I will be experimenting with different scents once I use up some of the ones that I have.
Leave a Reply

