Salt and Pepper Zucchini Chips.

 

I swore once before that I would stop trying to find ways to make snackable chips in the dehydrator but I apparently can’t help myself lol.  These were actually better than most but I’m still not convinced.  Found the original recipe at www.frugalfreebiesanddeals.com.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound (about 4 cups) thin sliced zucchini
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
Instructions:
  • In a medium bowl whisk salt, pepper, olive oil, and vinegar.
  • Add sliced zucchini.
  • Toss with the “dressing” to coat.
  • Arrange slices on dehydrator trays.
  • Dehydrate 5-6 hours or until crispy.

Notes:

  • So I ate one, thought about it, and actually ate a second one before I decided that these weren’t that great.  Guess it was better than the great potato chip experiment in which I actually spit the first chip out!  They aren’t bad, they were definitely crunchy, the taste just didn’t do it for me.  So I would say that this isn’t a recipe that you should completely avoid – it may just be a matter of personal taste.
  • I would definitely recommend using a mandolin or similar type of slicer, I used the thinnest setting on mine.  I can imagine that if you sliced the zucchini by hand that it would be very difficult to dry out completely.

One comment

  1. lol.. you are right,NOT a potato chip.

    My girls and I love them, but the hubby wants nothing to do with them 😉

Leave a comment